Red Raider athletic awards for the 2023-24 academic year

ORANGE CITY, Iowa – The Northwestern College athletic department has announced the winners of the four annual Red Raider athletic awards for the 2023-24 academic year. The awards were voted on by the NWC coaching staff, athletic department staff, and the Raider Athletics Advancement Board (RAAB). Awards were presented at the inaugural N-Dubs awards show on Sunday, May 5.


Jazlin De Haan, Volleyball

De Haan had an immense impact on Northwestern’s run to the title match in the fall of 2023. She was a six-rotation player that was awarded the GPAC Player of the Year award, also being named an NAIA All-American and a member of the All-Tournament team at the national tournament. She collected 27 kills in the GPAC title match and 25 kills in the National Championship.


Michael Storey, Football

Storey was a five-year starter at wide receiver for the Raiders, reaching three National Championship games and a national title win in 2022. He graduates as the all-time leader in receptions, second in career receiving yards, and third in receiving touchdowns. Last season, Storey earned First Team All-American accolades and was a First Team All-GPAC selection.


The oldest of all the athletic awards presented at Northwestern College, the Vander Stoep Award began in 1946 by Arie Vander Stoep, a former business manager at the college. In 1978 Don Vander Stoep joined Arie in sponsoring the award. One award was presented annually to a male athlete until 1978-79 when a second award was added for women.

The award, which can be won by juniors and seniors, takes into consideration attitude and sportsmanship on and off the playing field and comparative contribution made to the success of the team.

To be eligible, the athletes must have attended Northwestern College for four consecutive semesters. He or she must also have participated in one or two major sports for at least two years, while earning a minimum of two varsity letters in one or more sports.


Female – Molly Schany, Women’s Basketball

A 2022-23 Second Team CSC Academic All-American, Schany has been a standout in the classroom and on the court. During the 2023-24 season, she was a team captain, was a First Team All-GPAC selection, and a Third Team NAIA All-American. Schany collected 34 points and 17 rebounds in an NAIA First Round win over Rio Grande (Ohio). She will end the year with a 4.0 GPA as an exercise science major and pursue a second degree next year.

Male – Jake Francksen-Small, Wrestling

Advancing to the NAIA tournament for the second time in his career, Francksen-Small completed his senior year with plenty of accolades. On the mat, he is a three-time All-Conference selection and a three-year team captain. He will graduate with a 3.91 GPA in exercise science and will attend the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science in the fall to pursue a degree in physical therapy. Additionally, Francksen-Small is a three-time NWCA Academic All-American and NAIA Scholar Athlete, a member of Northwestern’s SALT committee, and served on the GPAC and NAIA Association of Student Athletes from 2022-24.


Dr. Noordewier taught in Northwestern’s biology department for 34 years and is one of the reasons Northwestern College is known for its strong science programs. Dr. Noordewier has served as Northwestern’s Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) for 30 years and as the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) Eligibility Chair for 15 years. He has also served numerous long-standing appointments at the NAIA level. In 2013 he received the NAIA’s Wally Schwarz Faculty Athletics Representative of the Year Award, and in 2015 he received Northwestern’s Faculty Inspirational Service Award. Dr. Noordewier is known for academic excellence and rigor, attention to details, and a desire to serve students.


Luke Jenness, Wrestling

Jenness ends his career as one of the most decorated wrestlers in program history, also excelling in the classroom and as a leader. He is Northwestern’s only five-time national tournament qualifier, a five-time All-GPAC honoree, is top five in wins, takedowns, match points, total matches, and winning percentage, is a five-time NWCA Academic All-American, and a three-time NAIA Scholar Athlete. Jenness is also one of the Huddle leaders for Northwestern’s FCA chapter and is a regular speaker at Fields of Faith events in Northwest Iowa.


The George Dunlop Sportsmanship Award was originated in 1968 by Mike Eischeid in memory of his late grandfather. Eischeid was a punter in the Super Bowl for both the Oakland Raiders and the Minnesota Vikings. The award is given to the man who best typifies what sportsmanship meant to George Dunlop, a former resident of Orange City. The recipient does not have to be a senior but preference is given to seniors.

The winner of the award must be an active participant – in some capacity – in athletics at Northwestern. Athletic ability is not the determining factor. To win, one must represent the finest in character and sportsmanship, not only on the athletic field, but off the field, in classroom activities and his everyday life and relationship with others. He must do his best at all times, regardless of the job or position he is asked to hold or play. He must be known as one who never quits, working always for the good of his team and his school. His character and sportsmanship must be an inspiration to those around him, doing what is right in the sight of God and man.


Grace Dahl, Women’s Soccer

A leader on Northwestern’s women’s soccer team, Dahl plays an important role in the team’s spiritual development, leading on the field and in the classroom. She holds a 3.94 GPA in sociology as a junior. According to Red Raider head coach Kelli Herman, “Grace has a beautiful ability to connect with people. She meets people where they’re at and then continues to walk alongside them to help them grow in their faith.”


The Carl Ver Steeg family, whose daughter is Mary Ver Steeg, established the Christian Women’s Award in 1982. Mary was instrumental in the development of varsity women’s sports programs at Northwestern College. She coached women’s basketball for six years and volleyball for four years. In 2006, the name of the award was changed to the Heidi (Jeltema) Altena Christian Woman Athlete Award in memory of Heidi, who demonstrated a sincere Christian faith and servant heart as well as being an outstanding athlete.

The winner of this award must demonstrate a lifestyle and conduct that reflects her faith and commitment to Jesus Christ while participating in athletics. She must also demonstrate qualities of leadership on and off the court or field.