NCC’s Hartog Receives National Award

Northwest Iowa Community College President, Dr. John Hartog received the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) Paragon Award for New Presidents during the PTK Recognition Ceremony in Des Moines on February 27.

To be eligible for this award, college presidents and CEOs are new in their role having served less than three years. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once. The 28 recipients were selected from among 406 college presidents, chancellors, and CEOs eligible to receive this award nationwide.

The award recognizes college presidents who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer, and employment. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus. “These college presidents have students-first leadership styles and made it a priority to support student success both inside and outside the classroom,” says Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “This award is special because it comes directly from the students, and it is evidence of the gratitude they feel for the support for them and students like them.”

“The staff and instructors at NCC deserve this honor; they really do,” said Dr. Hartog. “This award highlights everyone’s commitment to student success.”

“At NCC, PTK provides an opportunity for students to embark on the pillars of Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship,” said Kevin Miller, NCC PTK Advisor. “Congratulations to Dr. Hartog on receiving this award, it is well deserved.”