Local News

Van Kalsbeek Named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

ORANGE CITY, Iowa – Small College Basketball released its first watch list for the Bevo Francis Award for the 2023-24 season, with Northwestern men’s basketball student-athlete Alex Van Kalsbeek being named among 100 players across NCAA DII and DIII, NAIA, USCAA, and NCCAA men’s basketball.

Van Kalsbeek is leading the Raiders in scoring and sits ninth in the GPAC in points per game this season at 18.9. He also averages a mark of 6.2 rebounds and 2.6 assists per contest. Van Kalsbeek is 15th in program history with 1,716 career points.

“Alex has worked hard to get back out on the floor, and he continues to get better,” head coach Kris Korver commented. “He is an excellent scorer, a willing passer, and a tough matchup for opponents. We are blessed to have him in our program!

Van Kalsbeek was also named to the watchlist’s top 100 and top 50 in 2022.

The watch list will be reduced to 50 players on February 15 and 25 players on March 15. The finalists will be announced on April 1, with the 2024 Bevo Francis Award presented on April 6.


The Bevo Francis Award was created in 2015 and is named after Clarence “Bevo” Francis, who played two seasons at what is now the University of Rio Grande (Ohio). The award is presented annually to a player who has had the finest overall season in small college basketball.


2024 IGCA All-District softball teams

The Iowa Girls Coaches Association has announced it’ 2024 High School Softball All-District teams. 1A Northwest Name School Grade MacKenzie Hughes