Local News

McCarty honored as AFCA regional Coach of the Year for the second-straight season

WACO, Texas – For the third time and for the second-straight season, the Northwestern College head football coach Matt McCarty has been named the Region IV Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.

It now marks back-to-back seasons McCarty is earning the honor outright after leading Northwestern to a 13-0 (10-0 GPAC) record heading into the NAIA Semifinals on Saturday. It marks four-straight trips to the NAIA Semifinals for McCarty and company.

In his eighth season leading the football program, McCarty has compiled an overall record of 79-18 and 62-11 in Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) play. He has posted a record of 12-5 in NAIA Football Championship Series (FCS) play.

He won the honor in a co-Coach of the year capacity back in 2017, along with Morningside’s Steve Ryan, leading the Raiders to a 10-2 (7-1 GPAC) record with a trip to the NAIA FCS Quarterfinal round in just his second season as head coach.

The Raiders continue their hunt for another Red Banner when they play host to the Georgetown (Ky.) College Tigers on Saturday, December 9 for the final game at De Valois Stadium for the 2023 season.

The national coaches of the year will be announced in January by the AFCA. All Region Coaches of the Year are finalists for the National Coach of the Year award.