IHSAA announces preliminary football classifications for 2023 and 2024

The Iowa High School Athletic Association has announced preliminary classifications for the 2023 and 2024 football seasons. The IHSAA’s two-year football assignment and scheduling process is moving forward as the Iowa Department of Education has finalized its data for school enrollment (BEDS) and free and reduced lunch percentages. These approved updates for football’s new socioeconomic factor have resulted in “final classification numbers” which are now available to view at the IHSAA website as preliminary classifications for the 2023 and 2024 seasons.

Area teams in Class 4A for the upcoming season will be Storm Lake, Le Mars, and Spencer. Class 3A will include, MOC-FV, Sioux City Heelan, Sioux Center, and BHRV. Area teams in Class 2A are Spirit Lake, Okoboji, Central Lyon/GLR, Cherokee, Western Christian, which will move up from Class 1A, Unity Christian, West Lyon, and Sheldon. Class 1A will include, Hinton, and West Sioux. Competing in Class A will be Sibley-0cheyedan, Akron-Westfield, MMCRU, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, and South O’Brien. An in the 8-player classification, Harris-Lake Park, and Remsen St. Mary’s;

Once these classifications are verified this week, the IHSAA will develop and share districts and groups (Class 5A) as early as next week.