Local News

Highway 75 ALERT!

Godberson-Smith’s paving crew got rolling Wednesday morning on the east lanes of Highway 75, starting at 20th St. S. and are

Read More »

2023 GPAC Softball All-Conference teams announced

(Sioux City, Iowa) – The 2023 Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) Softball All-Conference team has been announced after a vote of league coaches. ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

Gwen Mikkelsen from Northwestern was named the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Player-of-the-Year. Mikkelsen becomes Northwestern’s first Player of the Year recipient since 2002 (Renae Bahrke). Abby Kraemer of Dordt was named the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Pitcher-of-the-Year. Shane Bouman from Northwestern was named the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Coach-of-the-Year.

Roni Foote Midland INF Jr. Omaha, Neb.

Carly Pfitzer Midland INF Sr. Gretna, Neb.

Morgan Nixon Morningside INF Sr. Elkhorn, Neb.

McKinnely Mull Dakota Wesleyan INF So. Vernal, Utah

Emily Prai Midland OF Jr. Lincoln, Neb.

Sydney Schelkopf Hastings OF Sr. Geneva, Neb.

Alyssa Burke Dakota Wesleyan OF Jr. Rapid City, S.D.

Ellie Cropley Morningside OF Sr. N. Sioux City, S.D.

Aliyah Rincon Midland P Jr. Granada Hills, Calif.

Amanda Schmaderer Midland C Jr. Lincoln, Neb.

Mykel Ann Gray Morningside C Sr. Ames, Iowa

Kylee Lukes Briar Cliff INF Jr. Jefferson, Wisc.

Elisabeth McGill Mount Marty INF Jr. Thornton, Colo.

Sydney Petersen Morningside INF Sr. Omaha, Neb.

Macy Homes College of Saint Mary INF Sr. Wahoo, Neb.

Karis Gifford Briar Cliff OF So. Lincoln, Neb.

Trinity Gregg Jamestown OF Fr. Barnesville, Minn.

Autumn Porter Mount Marty OF So. Miles City, Mont.

Grace Dowding Doane OF So. Firth, Neb.

Camry Moore Doane P Sr. Crete, Neb.

Maddi Duncan Briar Cliff P Fr. Lincoln, Neb.

Grace Buffington Morningside P So. Gretna, Neb.

Kennedy Andersen Briar Cliff C Sr. Panora, Iowa

Peyton Bagley Dakota Wesleyan DP So. Rapid City, S.D.

Megan Garcia College of Saint Mary UTL So. Elkhorn, Neb.

Briar Cliff– Aubrey Chichurka (INF), Callie Billings (OF), Alannah Naumann (OF), Katelyn Kotlarz (P)

Concordia – Kylie Shottenkirk (INF), Hanna Bowers (INF), Aubrey Bruning (OF)

Doane– Angelina Esqueda (INF)

Hastings – Lexie Mudloff (INF), Katyn Kappler (OF), Kyleigh Boever (P), Macie Mays (DP)

Midland – Keira Painter (OF)

Morningside – Kennedee Jones (INF), Ellie Kay Gengler (DP)

Mount Marty– Bailey Kortan (INF), Ella Ray (OF), McKenzie Gray (P)

Jamestown – Samarah Martinez (INF), Ally Battistoni (UTL), Mackenzie Lefebvre (DP)

The seven All-Conference selections for Northwestern are the most since 2012.