Northwestern football will host Dickinson State in opening round of NAIA playofs

November 13, 2022 7:11pm


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 16 team field and the matchups for the First Round of the NAIA Football Championship Series on Sunday. The 16-team FCS will kick-off on Saturday, November 19th at eight campus host sites across the country, with the higher seed hosting each contest.

The full field features 12 automatic qualifiers and four at-large berths.

The Northwestern College football team (9-1, 9-1 GPAC), ranked No. 3 in the nation in the final week of the regular season, was selected to host the No. 14-ranked Dickinson State Blue Hawks (N.D.) (8-2, 6-0 NSAA) this Saturday, November 19 in Orange City. The Raiders finished the regular season 9-1 (9-1 GPAC) and have won nine-straight games heading into the FCS. Northwestern enters the NAIA FCS for the sixth-straight season under head coach Matt McCarty, and for the 24th time in program history.

The Blue Hawks of Dickinson State University hail out of the North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) and are winners of eight-straight games, after winning the NSAA with a perfect 6-0 record in league play. The Blue Hawks are making their 23rd all-time trip to the NAIA FCS.

Kickoff is slated for noon (12:00 p.m.) (CT) from Korver Field at De Valois Stadium on the campus of Northwestern College.

2022 NAIA Football Championship Series - First Round Schedule

Saturday, November 19 | Campus Sites

Seed School Record Seed School Record

1 Morningside (Iowa) 10-0 vs. 16 Arizona Christian 8-2

2 Grand View (Iowa) 11-0 vs. 15 Carroll (Mont.) 8-2

3 Northwestern (Iowa) 9-1 vs. 14 Dickinson State (N.D.) 8-2

4 Bethel (Tenn.) 11-0 vs. 12 Keiser (Fla.) 7-3

5 Indiana Wesleyan 9-1 vs. 13 Avila (Mo.) 10-1

6 Benedictine (Kan.) 10-1 vs. 10 Southwestern (Kan.) 9-1

7 Marian (Ind.) 8-1 vs. 11 Saint Xavier (Ill.) 9-2

8 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) 9-1 vs. 9 Reinhardt (Ga.) 8-1