2022 Unoffical Primary Election Results

June 08, 2022 10:08am

Election Results

Voters turned out for Iowa’s 2022 Primary elections that highlighted new districts; the first election with new precincts after a census year.  Races of note include the US Senate primary race between Republican Incumbent Chuck Grassley and opponent Jim Carlin from Sioux City; unofficial results give Chuck Grassley an overwhelming victory with 73% of the votes.  Michael Franken won the Democratic Senate primary race against former Congresswoman Abby Finkenaur, and Dr. Glenn Hurst with 55% of the votes, Finkenaur secured nearly 40% of the votes.


US House Democratic Incumbent Cindy Axne ran unopposed.  Three Republican candidates ran for a chance to unseat her this fall; Nicole Hasso, Gary Leffler, and Zach Nunn, with Nunn winning that race with 66% of the votes.


In State Offices, two Democrats ran for Secretary of State; Joel Miller beat out Eric Van Lancker for the chance to unseat Republican Incumbent Paul Pate.  State Auditor had two Republicans vying for their chance to unseat Democrat Incumbent Rob Sand.  Todd Halbur narrowly edged Mary Ann Hanusa with just 51% of the votes. 


Local races of note include the new House District 4 which covers all of Lyon County and the north half of Sioux County, including Sioux Center.  Incumbent Republican Skyler Wheeler, who moved to Hull from Orange City to remain in the 4th district, beat challenger Kendal Zylstra of Larchwood with 52% of the vote. 


House District 5, covering Osceola, O’Brien, and parts of Cherokee and Buena Vista Counties, has two challengers: 10-year law enforcement veteran Zachary Dieken of Granville beat Thomas Kuiper of Sibley, and Incumbent Dennis Bush with 56% of the votes.  


The only local state senate race of note is in District 3 which covers Osceola, O’Brien, and parts of Cherokee, Buena Vista, and Clay Counties; Republican Incumbent Lynn Evans of Aurelia beat challenger by Anthony LaBruna of Storm Lake with 65% of the votes.


Total statewide voter turnout was 16.13%.  Voter turnout in Sioux County was 20.4%; Lyon County 21.8%; O’Brien County 19%; Osceola County 23.7%; and Plymouth County with just 11% of the voters turning out.


See State Primary results here        


See Sioux County results here           

See Lyon County results here            

See O’Brien County results here           

See Osceola County results here           

See Plymouth County results here