Central Lyon High School Named 2022 Carrie Chapman Catt Award Winner

May 04, 2022 11:02am

Carrie Chapman Catt Trophy

For the second time, Central Lyon High School has qualified for the Carrie Chapman Catt Award.  Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate announced 31 schools qualified for the award this school year, a record high. The award goes to schools that register at least 90 percent of their eligible students to vote. Nearly 3,400 high school students registered this year in conjunction with the Catt Award initiative. 


Secretary Pate created the award in 2019 to encourage voter registration in Iowa high schools. 22 schools qualified in 2021, and 18 qualified in 2020.


Pate says he’s thrilled to see young people taking the first step in the voting process by getting registered.  He credits teachers and administrators at the schools by engaging the students in civics, saying he tells young people the best way to make their voice heard is by voting, and to do that, you need to get registered.


Secretary Pate plans to visit each of the 31 schools to present them with the Carrie Chapman Catt Award trophy. Additionally, 10 Iowa schools registered more than 70 percent of eligible students, and 17 registered more than 50 percent. Inspire2Vote collaborated with Secretary Pate’s office to assist schools with their voter registration efforts.


Honorabe mentions go to St. Mary’s High School in Storm Lake, which registered more than 70% of eligible students; West Sioux, Sibley-Ocheyedan, and LeMars High Schools, which registered more than 50% of eligible students.