Reitz, Solberg, Vander Stoep award winners

May 20, 2021 12:30pm

Reitz Solberg

The Northwestern College athletic department announced its winners of the Vander Stoep Award for the 2020-21 sports year and Lacey Reitz and Shane Solberg earned the prestigious honor.

Lacey Reitz

3x NAIA / AVCA All-American (2018 - 20)

2x GPAC Setter of the Year (2019, 20)

4x all-conference, 3x 1st team accolades

finished w/ 5,359 career assists, 2nd most all-time in program history

66 matches w/ 40+ assists, 31 double-doubles (assists / digs)

2x NAIA Scholar Athlete

CoSIDA Academic All-American (2019)

GPAC Freshman of Year (2017)

GPAC Setter of the Week 10x

NAIA Setter of the Week 4x

led Raiders to four national tournaments, 2x quarterfinal finish

national tournament all-tournament team (2019)

“Lacey had an outstanding four-year career in our volleyball program," commented Northwestern Head Coach Kyle Van Den Bosch. "Lacey has been the starting setter since our very first match of her freshman season and is a great competitor who has a strong knowledge of the game of volleyball. Lacey's quickness and speed to which she played allowed her to get her hands on about any ball on the court. Lacey was always looking for ways to improve her setting skills as well as finding ways to make our team the best it could be. She helped lead our team to a pair of conference titles and two runner-up finishes.“

Shane Solberg

3x All-American (2020 - 2nd, 2019 - 1st, 2018 - 3rd)

3x 1st team all-conference

led NAIA in receptions (78) and receiving yards (1,595) in 2020

ranked 3rd in the NAIA in touchdowns (18)

closed career with 49 receiving touchdowns, 4,775 yards, 282 catches

22 100-yard games for career

3 200-yard games for career

holds several school records, including:

career receiving yards

career receiving touchdowns

career receptions

single season receptions

single season receiving yards

single season receiving touchdowns

“Shane had an outstanding career," stated Northwestern Head Football Coach Matt McCarty. "He is one of the best to ever put on a Red Raider football uniform. Shane is an extraordinary leader who has played an integral part in helping our football program become one of the best in the nation.”

Vander Stoep: the oldest of all the athletic awards presented at Northwestern College, the Vander Stoep Award began in 1946 by Arie Vander Stoep, a former business manager at the college. In 1978 Don Vander Stoep joined Arie in sponsoring the award. One award was presented annually to a male athlete until 1978-79 when a second award was added for women.

The award, which can be won by juniors and seniors, takes into consideration attitude and sportsmanship on and off the playing field and comparative contribution made to the success of the team. To be eligible, the athletes must have been in attendance at Northwestern College for four consecutive semesters. He or she must also have participated in one or two major sports for at least two years, while earning a minimum of two varsity letters in one or more sports.