Northwest Iowa counties refuse Covid Vaccine allotments

April 15, 2021 10:00am

Covid1923311 Lores

21 Iowa counties, including several in Northwest Iowa, declined new COVID-19 vaccine allotments from the state this past week because they did not have the demand to use them, according to the Iowa Department of Public Health.

Northwest Iowa counties that declined allotments were Crawford, Clay, Lyon, Osceola, Sac, and Woodbury.

State officials say that may be evidence of demand for the vaccine slowing down. Sarah Ekstrand, public information officer with the Iowa department of public health, says it should be noted that these counties are doing exactly what has been asked of them.

She says when a county cannot ensure the ability to administer all of the allocated doses, they are asked to decline doses so those doses can be allocated to areas of the state with a high demand.

The counties will continue to receive a weekly allocation with the option to decline or accept doses as the need within each county may fluctuate.