2020 NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship Qualifiers and Opening Round Pairings Announced

April 12, 2021 10:46am

Naia Logo

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics has officially announced the qualifying teams and Opening Round pairings for the 2020 NAIA Women’s Volleyball National Championship. The 48-team event will get underway with 24 National Championship Opening Round matches at campus locations on April 17.

After opening rounds, the action moves inside the Tyson Events Center starting with two days of pool play from April 27-28. The top team in each pool will advance to the elimination bracket on April 29, the semifinals will be played on April 30 and the national champion will be crowned May 1 with the first serve set for 7 p.m. CST on ESPN3.

This year's field includes 36 automatic qualifiers and 12 at-large selections. The automatic berths are determined by regular-season champions or runner-ups, conference tournament title winners or runner-ups, or by conference selection. The remaining at-large bids were determined by the final regular-season Women's Volleyball Coaches' Top 25 Poll announced Monday. Final site pools will be determined on Sunday, April 18, and released by 5 p.m. CST

The Great Plains Athletic Conference brings in the highest number of qualifiers the field with five qualifying teams: Concordia (Neb.), Dordt (Iowa), Jamestown (N.D.), Midland (Neb.) and Northwestern (Iowa).

Northwestern will be hosting Trinity Christian of Illinois in the opening round on Saturday. Dordt is also hosting an opening round match on Saturday, against MidAmerica Nazarene. Top Ranked Jamestown will host St. Mary (Kan.), Midland is at home against Mayville State, and Concordia will open at Xavier (La.).