Van Beek Named William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

September 27, 2018

Van Beek Northwestern 200x200

Northwestern College senior Bryce Van Beek has been named a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy®, the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

The award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation. Fidelity Investments is a proud partner of the Campbell Trophy®.

One of 10 semifinalists from the NAIA Subdivision, Van Beek is in his fourth season playing defensive back for the Red Raiders. Van Beek led the NAIA with seven interceptions in 2017, tied for the second most in program history since the 1999 season, and earned first team all-conference honors last season. He led all defensive backs with 60 tackles and was named the team’s most valuable defensive player.

Van Beek is a two-time Pflieger-Olson Award and will be an NAIA Scholar Athlete this fall. Active in several campus activities and in community service, Van Beek was part of a Spring Service Partnership in Jacksonville, Fla. and has also served a volunteer flag footbal coach in the community. He is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) on campus.

9172The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 31, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 60th NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 29th William V. Campbell Trophy®and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

“These 179 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy®winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “For 60 years, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete program has showcased more than 800 college football players who have been successful on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the Campbell Trophy®is a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient’s grant by $7,000 for a total postgraduate scholarship of $25,000. This year’s postgraduate scholarships will push the program’s all-time distribution to more than $11.5 million.