West Sioux’s Blankenship & BHRV’s Vander Zwaag Named 1st Team All-State

July 25, 2018


West Sioux led Sioux County with three selections on the 2018 All-State softball teams announced by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union Tuesday. All three Falcon picks are sophomores with Shayden Blankenship on the Class 2A 1st team, Erica McKenney on the 2A 2nd team and Payton Schwiesow on the 2A honorable mention list. Also on the Class 2A honorable mention list were Western Christian senior Alyssa Buren and Unity Christian junior Erin Wieringa.

Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley had two all-state selections in Class 3A. Senior Kaitlyn Vander Zwaag capped off her Nighthawk career with 1st team honors. Junior Taylor Richter made the 3A 2nd team as did Sioux Center senior Kaylea Van Regenmorter.

Akron-Westfield paced all the teams in the area conferences (War Eagle, Siouxland, Lakes) with four all-state selections led by senior Brynn VanEldik on the 1st team in Class 1A and senior Danika Smith on the 1A 2nd team.

See the entire list of all-state honorees from Classes 1A through 5A here.