DeJong and Hulst Claim Special Honors as All-GPAC Teams Announced

March 02, 2016

Gpac 180x180 Logo

Northwestern’s Kassidy DeJong has been named the GPAC Women’s Basketball Freshman-Of-The-Year and Dordt’s Mycah Hulst is the women’s Defensive Player-Of-The-Year as the all-conference teams were announced today. DeJong, a 5-9 freshman from Hospers, earned 1st team honors from the league’s 12 coaches. Former Central Lyon standout, Lexi Ackerman, now a junior at Morningside also grabbed 1st team honors while Hulst, a 6-3 senior from Byron Center, Michigan is on the 2nd team.

Northwestern’s Renee Maneman and Whitney Vander Maten and Dordt’s Cassidy Vredevoogd were named honorable mention.

Deaundra Young of the College of Saint Mary is the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Women’s Basketball Player-of-the-Year after averaging 23.3 points, 13.1 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.9 blocks per game for the Flames who are in their first year as a GPAC member. The Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Coach-of-the-Year is Morningside’s Jamie Sale.

On the men’s side, Dordt’s Nathan Rindels and Northwestern’s Colton Kooima are first teamers. Each school placed one on the 2nd team as well with Leighton Sampson for Dordt and Nathan Wedel for Northwestern. The honorable mention list included Northwestern’s Jordan Baker and Dordt’s Dalton Franken and Alec Henrickson.

Trey Bardsley of Nebraska Wesleyan is the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Men’s Basketball Player-of-the-Year after averaging 28.5 points, 4.5 rebounds and 4.2 assists per game for the Prairie Wolves in their final season in the conference. Briar Cliff swept the other awards with Defensive Player-of-the-Year Bryan Forbes, Freshman-of-the-Year Erich Erdman and Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Coach-of-the-Year Nic Nelson.

Complete GPAC Women’s All-Conference Teams
Complete GPAC Men’s All-Conference Teams