School board elections

September 08, 2015

School board elections take place today.

Candidates in several districts are running unopposed, but there are some contested races as well.

Sioux County

Boyden Hull:

District 2: Jason Moser and Aric Van Voorst running unopposed for the dual seat

District 3: Jake Ten Haken vs Lisa Te Slaa

(Boyden Hull precincts are open from 7:00 AM – 8:00 PM, all other precincts in Sioux County open at noon and close at 8:00 PM)


District 1: Chris Immeker unopposed

District 2: Amy Kleinhesselink (incumbent) unopposed

District 4: Shane Jager (incumbent) unopposed

Rock Valley:

Director At Large: Jerry Kelderman unopposed

Director At Large: James Van Veldhuizen unopposed

Sioux Center:

Director At Large: Timothy Lee Gesink unopposed

Director At Large: Scott Te Stroete unopposed

West Sioux:

District 3: NO CANDIDATES, winner will be write-in

District 4: Danielle Gradert unopposed

District 1: Russell Coons unopposed


Lyon County:

Central Lyon:

Four people running for three positions as director at large:

Judy Gacke(incumbent), David Jans(incumbent), Joel De Wit, Andy Koob

George-Little Rock:

Director At Large Curt Fiedler (incumbent) vs Gregory Ver Steeg

District 1: Douglas Lee Krull (incumbent) unopposed

District 4: Amy Jurrens (incumbent) unopposed

West Lyon

District 3: Justin Metzger unopposed (incumbent Gib Van Hill is retiring)

District 4: Derek Knobloch (incumbent) unopposed


Four seats on the Northwest Iowa Community College board of directors are up for election as well, but they are all running unopposed.

Director, Northwest Iowa Community College Board

District 2: Stephen Simons (incumbent) unopposed

District 3 Loretta Berkland (incumbent) unopposed

District 5: Adam Besaw (incumbent) unopposed

District 6: Leroy Van Kekerix (incumbent) unopposed